The 2019 Lok Sabha elections is in the sixth phase in the ongoing seven-phase elections. All seven phases of voting will end on 19 May, results for which will be declared on 23 May.

Catch all the updates on the 2019 Lok Sabha elections here.

MNM Asks EC to Cancel Sulur Bypolls Scheduled for 19 May

The Makkal Needhi Maiam (MNM) party on Friday, 17 May sought calling off the Sulur bypoll scheduled on 19 May after authorities denied permission for party chief Kamal Hassan to campaign there.

The party said permission was denied citing law and order issues and that many petitions had been sent, requesting denial of permission for the campaign, MNM General Secretary A Arunachalam said in a petition to the Election Commission of India.

Earlier, the Coimbatore police had denied permission to Haasan following a furore over his 'free India's first extremist was a Hindu' remarks, due to which Haasan could not undertake campaigning on Friday.

Arunachalam said permission had been sought for the campaign today and that MNM had been orally informed it would be granted.